Australian motorsport official named world’s best

Motorsport Australia official, Christopher McMahon is the 2022 FIA Senior Official of the Year. Acknowledged for his work as a senior steward, the Queenslander is one of the current co-chairs of the Repco Supercars Championship Stewards Panel.

He is also passionate about developing and mentoring officials looking to advance through the officiating pathway.

While humbled, McMahon said he is “very chuffed” that his efforts were acknowledged,” said McMahon.

“To be honest, I am a little embarrassed as stewarding is a team activity, and I was individually recognised. However, it is all very pleasing and came as a complete surprise.

“There are a lot of people to thank for this honour,” said McMahon. “The key individuals were my mentors over the years.” These include Ann Thomson, who identified McMahon as a steward and his first mentor at state level, Trevor Neumann. Steve Chopping and Peter Drew then welcomed and supported McMahon into stewarding at Supercars Championship level.

“I would also like to acknowledge some of the core members of the Supercars Stewards’ team, Matt Selley and Steve Lisk. The Race Direction team of Tim Schenken, Michael Masi and James Taylor have been excellent to work with,” he added.

McMahon said he worked with some good FIA people, including Robert Reid, Timo Rautiainen and Waultraud Wunsch. “All have been fantastic in helping me develop my skills as a steward since my time in the sport,” he said.

“Finally, I am very grateful for all the support over the years, as well as the nomination itself. I am thankful for the opportunity to be in motorsport. We don’t do this for the awards, but it’s pleasing to be recognised.”

Motorsport Australia President, Andrew Fraser, congratulated McMahon on the award.

“On behalf of everyone at Motorsport Australia, and our wider motorsport community, we couldn’t be prouder to see Chris named FIA Senior Official of the Year for 2022,” said Fraser.

“As a senior steward here in Australia, Chris’ knowledge and experience has allowed him to officiate at both a national and international level throughout his impressive career. This includes taking on the role as Co-Chair of the Supercars Stewards Panel.

“It’s certainly a tough job, and together with the support of all his colleagues Chris has done an outstanding job, not only in 2022 but over many years in the sport. He is clearly dedicated and committed to making Australian motorsport the best it can be, as well as supporting those looking to follow in his footsteps.

“It’s no surprise that Australians regularly feature in these annual FIA volunteer awards. It is a clear indication to us that we have the best officials in the world who are so passionate about what they do. We should all be extremely proud of each and every one of our 9,000 plus Motorsport Australia officials.”

FIA Awards for Motorsport Australia Officials:

2022 FIA Senior Official of the Year: Christopher McMahon

2021 FIA Senior Official of the Year: Henk van den Dungen

2020 FIA Best Team of Officials of the Season: Australian Grand Prix Officials Team

2019 FIA Best Track or Road Marshal of the Season: Robert Thiry

2018 Best Chief Medical Officer Official of the Season: Dr Matthew Croxford

2018 FIA Best Chief Scrutineer Official of the Season: Barry Habgood

2017 Outstanding Official of the Season: Roger Chirnside

2016 Best Doctor of the Season: Dr Brent May

2015 Best Marshal of the Season: Belinda Taylor

2014 Best Senior Official of the Season: Adrian Stafford

2013 Best Scrutineer of the Season: Ewan Cole

2013 Best Doctor of the Season: Dr Rik Hagen

2012 Best Senior Official of the Season: Steve Chopping

2011 Outstanding Senior Official of the Season: Dr Michelle Gatton

Please follow and like us:

Darren House

Darren House has been involved with motoring and motorsport media for more than four decades, working as a photographer, journalist, editor, public relations manager and marketing manager. He has produced material for numerous publications, including Auto Action, Chequered Flag, Motorsport News, Performance Street Car, Super Ford, Street Machine, Fast Fours & Rotaries, Hot Fours & Rotaries, Motorsport Legends and Truth Sport.

error: Content is protected !!